Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Black Star Pirate BBQ. We'd love to have your feedback!

Point San Pablo Harbor in Richmond, CA

Type to search our menu...

You are submitting your information to Black Star Pirate BBQ and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. Popmenu's and apply.

Our Latest Reviews

Baiz 6 days ago

Brisket Sandwich

Delicious!

Tracey Ann 14 days ago

Brisket Sandwich

Everything we tried was delicious. The afternoon was super low key and fun. I'm hooked.

Rhourula 26 days ago

2 Meats, 3 Sides

I had the brisket and the pork ribs and let me tell ya, those ribs were some of the best I ever had! Tender, juicy, with just enough pepper. The brisket was amazingly tender as well and the flavor amazing as well. I wasn't expecting to enjoy the cabbage as much as I did but oh boy was it delicious. Everything was amazing and I will be back forsure!

Ldmollner about 1 month ago

Brisket Sandwich

Fun and good food too. Steve Miller band was great, I danced and I'm not a dancer. 24 oz beer and ribs too. I'm bringing more family this Friday! Love this place.

Susan A about 1 month ago

2 Meats, 3 Sides

I have been seeing photos of delicious BBQ on friends' FB pages, and hearing about Black Star Pirate BBQ for a few months...on my way back from working this past week at the High Sierra Music Festival (where BSPBBQ should DEFINITELY have a food booth!!!) I decided to take a break, eat some hopefully delicious BBQ, and have a nice transition before landing at home in Alameda. My main hope, after securing some delicious BBQ was to not fall asleep while eating it. Driving to the San Pablo Harbor was an experience in itself. Have been in the Bay Area for 41_ years, drive regularly from Alameda to San Quentin, and never once imagined this area existed. It's worth the trip from almost anywhere in the Bay Area, even if there wasn't delicious BBQ awaiting you. It was the 4th of July, and I was sad to see they had run out of ribs by the time I got there at 4ish, but not sad enough to not order the 2 meats and 3 sides, figuring it would be enough for two meals. I was wrong, it's enough for 4, maybe 4! I was happy as a clam to see they had burnt (brisket) tips, and some pulled pork, something I know a lot about. I decided on cowboy beans, coleslaw, and mac n cheese as sides. I took a seat at the railing and could see/hear the band (which was the perfect transition from a weekend music festival), see the Bay, and houseboats, and felt like I had slipped into some kind of dream - which, at that time, was entirely possible, after navigating a music festival box office for 5 days, but this dream was WAY better because it was NOT desert-ly dusty, nor filled with people asking me for things...just people bringing me things I could not wait to eat. The BBQ came out pretty quickly, and I went right inside to get a to-go box. My tray looked massive. The burnt ends had some tangy and delicious BBQ sauce, and the pulled pork had a mustardy version of said sauce. Both were DELICIOUS! Not too much sauce so that the sauce overpowers the meat, and not too little sauce so I feel like I am in Goldilocks and the 3 bears...the sauce was just right. The meat was tasty, moist, and the tips, yummy. I rarely get mac and cheese anywhere but home, and am glad I made an exception, though I had to take most of it home because that falling asleep concern I had earlier wasn't going away, and two BBQd meats and some mac n cheese were gonna put me in a food coma of delight. I couldn't afford to sleep over there though, so had the sides, and put the rest of the mac n cheese into the to-go container. It went home, and I had it for dinner....yummmmmmmmmm The coleslaw was good, cabbage crunchy, sauce the right balance of sweet and vinegary. The cowboy beans were a bit different when expected, I'd asked if they were baked beans, and was told yes...it's probably technically or not technically true, but they were a nice combo of black beans, kidney beans, and navy beans (I think that was the third kind), with diced peppers and good flavor, like baked beans on steroids. Taking a walk out along the Bay after finishing my meal was a delight...so many places to stop and sit, though I knew better than to do that, for fear that I would still be there at midnight. Lots of artwork to explore in the surrounding area, and a Pirate 2nd hand store with clothing for men and women, not a lot for pirates - that I saw anyway. I will be back Black Star Pirate BBQ!! There is so much more to taste out there! Susan BarberQ Barber

Susan 13 days ago

Brisket

All the food our group had was delicious!

Areyouthatwoman 21 days ago

Brisket

5 Stars The most fun EVER! Everything you could hope for: great BBQ, views, weather, art, music, people, greeter dog, and creative energy! Oh, long and winding road to get here. Checked all my travel queen boxes. We had ribs, brisket, beans and brews. Smiling all the whole and cannot wait to get there again. We live way north, but YOU are on our bucket list! Thank you for creating this magic. @Areyouthatwoman

Susan 30 days ago

½ & ½ Combo

Despite being known for their delicious meats, you would be ordering amiss if you didn't try Black Star's Portabello Mushrooms. They are not only juicy and slathered in tasty sauces, they also come with a hidden order of harbor greens so enjoy an extra side. Chef's kiss to this perfect plate!

Micha about 1 month ago

Cheesy Grits

Oh yes, the meats are great. But it's the grits that git. I'm so. cal girl from the San Fernando valley and not much accustomed to grits, let alone great grits. LOVE THEM here. Comfort food, filling, delicious and delightful with a bit of bar b q sauce on the side. Now, I'm not downputting the mac n cheese or cowboy beans, but the Grits, baby, the Grits are so so good. Go n git em.

El Jefe De Biosmell Aka: Biosmellicus Maximus In Letters Latin, At Your about 2 months ago

4 Meats, 4 Sides

After Missing Tony's cooking since he left West Marin I am glad his ship found a safe port to anchor in! So far each time I am in the East Bay on the days that Black Star is open I always pull off the Pt. Molate exit on my way home. What I actually order is their Meat Sampler and their Side Sampler. Way more than I can eat in one sitting but who doesn't like leftovers! It was also the perfect thing to bring to my Father for a Father's Day meal outdoors! That time I went with two samplers.... Everyone had leftovers! El Jefe de Biosmell



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

June 2022:
Lawrence, O'Ya Cantina
Chapel Hill, NC

May 2022:
David, Grillsmith
Sarasota, FL

April 2022:
Katie, Jelly Cafe
Denver, CO

March 2022:
Marny, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

February 2022:
Teresa, Black Angus
Vancouver, BC

January 2022:
Deirdre, White Pie
Colorado Springs, CO

December 2021:
Camille, Patsy's Roadhouse
Hopewell Junction, NY

November 2021:
Sherry, Riverpark Pub and Eatery
Parkville, MO

October 2021:
Stephanie, Hightopps Backstage Grille
Timonium, MD

September 2021:
Megan, Scratch Kitchen & Taproom
Apex, NC

August 2021:
Jerome, Taste of Soul by Ms. Nancy
Burlington, NJ

July 2021:
The Great Greek, NV

June 2021:
Sylvia, Urth Caffé
Los Angeles, CA 

May 2021:
Amber, Haute Dogs and Fries
Alexandria, VA

April 2021:
Travis, El Monumento
Georgetown, TX

March 2021:
Susan, Alden Park
Plymouth, MA

February 2021:
Leilani, Hon Machi Korean BBQ
San Antonio, TX

January 2021:
Goodrich Seafood & Oyster House

December 2020:
Hallee, Pizza Sociale
Los Angeles, CA

November 2020:
Barbara, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA